Hello!

Exercise gets boring if you don’t change it up.

I have joined a new group at my local YMCA. It’s a triathlon group and we meet three times a week. I have been having so much fun with the varied workouts. I can’t believe the running is the hardest part for me. I did run my fastest mile the other day (10:00 min/mile)* and for me that was close to my best effort. For now.

I am striving towards a sprint tri that is a bit shorter distance than the regular ones. The run portion will be 3 miles. Not too bad.

1/2 mile swim, 12 miles on the bike and a 3 mile run-I think.

I love the swimming the best. We did 20 laps in a row the other day! Non-stop!! 500 yards. It wasn’t pretty but I’m getting there. Plus, it was at 530am. Now that is an accomplishment in it’s self.

Mostly, I love training with a group of positive people. More fun that way. The Y offers great childcare options too, so really there is no excuse to be a couch potato.

Yoga has been a constant lately too. I really find it does a great job of calming and quieting the mind. You know, if you are looking for that sort of thing. My instructor is really into mindfulness and the philosophy of acceptance being the path to contentment. Oh yeah, love it all. I was surprised how much I love the meditation aspect too.

One class I took has a good mix of yoga, meditation, and tai chi. I could do it everyday.

So yeah, that is what I’m excited about lately.

Namaste! 🙂

*edited

