Hello! Well, since I have it here is a picture of our new wall with a wider entrance to the kitchen.

Looks so much better now with a wider opening. I was gobsmacked! šŸ˜›

Here in San Jose there are no basements (maybe because of earthquakes?), so laundry areas are usually found in the garage. I realize we are fortunate to have our own washer and dryer but I really hate going into the garage to do laundry. In our new place it is currently located in the garage. We might get our contractor to move it inside since we have some space outside the Master on the first floor. Exciting times. You know you are getting old when you are excited about laundry. Hmmm…

C IS FOR COOKIE!!!!!

For those of you who asked, here is the Oatmeal Krispy Cookie recipe
Adapted from my pal Sarah’s recipe

1 cup butter
3/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups oats (regular)
2 cups brown rice cereal (very similar to rice krispies except brown)
1 cup unsweetened coconut or whatever you have

350 for 15 minutes or until cooked. We cooked them a bit longer for a nice golden brown hue.

Just make these cookies as you would others. Combine wet and dry separate and then put together. You have to cream the butter. My butter was frozen so I pulled out the big guns (big mixer) but you could just use elbow grease.

Also, I think there is room to cut down the sugar in this recipe. They are plenty sweet and if you are watching your sugar intake go for it.
I squished a few batches down with a fork and I liked the end result of that method. The cookie dough will be dry so don’t worry.

This batch makes a lot of cookies, that’s okay share with your friends! That’s what we did. Along with drinking copious amounts of tea….

These are practically a health food–coconut, krispies and oatmeal! What a trifecta!
Enjoy!

RANDOM SIDE NOTE FOLLOWS

One more random side note. I have been making a lot of soup lately. Who am I kidding, I am always making soup. Today’s soup was…

Wild Rice and Tomato Soup (recipe made up by moi according to what was in the fridge)

olive oil
onions
garlic
celery
carrots
zucchini
cumin
coriander
mustard seed
diced tomatoes
veggie broth (rapunzel brand is so good!)
black beans
corn
wild rice
dried basil

To me, soup is the perfect meal. So easy to whip up and tastes yummy. Love having leftovers to freeze. Make some today. Serve with a big hunk of bread with butter or garlic bread! YUM! šŸ™‚

Go ahead-clean out your fridge and eat your veggies! The wee one scarfed this down.
Nothing better than when you can see people enjoy your cooking.:)

Rewind to this morning. I made it out for Track Tuesday today. We did laps, bleachers, abs, planks and pushups. Ever since I stopped going to boot camp I can feel a difference in my upper body. I’m thinking about adding in a swim/bike weekly to help with cross training. One can’t live on running alone. Get out there and move people. Your body will thank you for it.

Ciao for now.

