I am a firm believer of living in the moment and enjoying where you are in your life right.at.this.very.moment. Sometimes I realize this is difficult to do. Like– say, when you are waiting for a return of a loved one over seas or for a sick friend/family member to get feeling better again. Or when you are past your due date waiting to have a baby.

Tonight we decided to live in the moment and have a special Baby Moon Dinner. Okay, I know I call every night a special dinner. Every night is special–when we cook something up. Maybe I don’t always document the macaroni and cheese dinners, but they exist too–in their own right. 🙂

This one is a goodie–be sure to bookmark it or write it down on your recipe card and stuff it in your family recipe box that is overflowing with recipes from Granny Jeanne on how to bake Halibut.

ROAST CHICKEN WITH CARAMELIZED SHALLOTS

I followed the recipe and found it to be very quick, simple, and tasty. What more can you ask for?

I know that finding good ways to cook chicken creatively is vital–if you enjoy the bird like us.

Mikey has been helping me in the kitchen lately. Or have I been helping him? I usually find the recipe and delegate important tasks to him to perform. I did cut the shallots tonight–and cried like a baby! I really need those goggles!

I love cooking with him in the kitchen, two in the kitchen is so much better. Especially when you want to take pictures to boot.

Started out with some cheese and olives…

A nice selection of cheddars and swiss. You can buy these “sweet baby cheeses” from Whole Foods when all you want is just a sample. About 2 bones a piece.

I saw some Euro looking guy buying these green olives from the olive bar, so I leaned in and said something cheezy like–you come here often?
Then he ran away.
I kid.
I said “those must be good”–and he said “oh yeah–I’m having a party tonight and was instructed to get these olives–you should try them”. So I did. YUM.

In the cart they went. I love that you can sample any olive from the huge bar before you buy them–how cool is that.

We had a blast at the grocery store, as we usually do. You know you are old when you have fun at the store on a Saturday night. I don’t mind. ‘Cause I am the real article here. Whatcha see is whatcha get. Enough rambling.

Back to Dinner.

While Mikey put the marinade into the casserole dish, I chopped the shallots.

Rachael Ray like garbage bowl.

Grabbed the chicken. We used three thighs and three drumsticks.

Put the chicken right in the dish and gave it a good rub.

Don’t be afraid to get in there and get all that shallot goodness and sauce all over the chicken. Already smells divine. The red wine vinegar was a sleeper gem.

When David makes this he fixes himself a sidecar. For me, I settled for a limeade and club soda. NOT-THE-SAME. Refreshing though.

After baking, finish it up with some fresh herbs and enjoy!

There you have it–Happy Baby Moon! Come out Baby–come out, come out, wherever you are!

