This delectable bowl of goodness was inspired by Hernandez in Victoria, B.C. If you live there and have not been, go!
I made up this quick dinner with ingredients I had on hand.

THE RICE
1 cup jasmine rice
2 cups vegetable or chicken broth
Pinch of turmeric
Pinch of cayenne
Pinch of cumin
Pepper
2 tsp.butter (mixed in after it was done)
I threw all of these guys into the rice cooker and hoped for the best. After it was done, I stirred in 1/2 can corn niblets.

THE BEANS
2 cloves garlic chopped
1/4 red onion
1/2 yellow and red pepper
1 can black beans
1/2 Tbsp. cumin
1 cup of vegetable broth
S & P

These colorful cast of characters all jumped into my big ‘ol cast iron pot for a Mexican Fiesta!
The aroma was heavenly as they all married each other in one big polygamous party.
After I thought it had simmered enough to unlock the flava, I took out about 1 cup of the mix and used my immersion blender. This made a nice creamy sauce to add back in to the bean mix.

Okay so we have rice and beans…

Oh ya, then I prepared my toppings.

Cilantro~ I am a lover not a hater of this wonderful herb
Avocado
Fage 0% greek yogurt~so good and versatile too
Salsa
Red Onion

Michael and I were both very satisfied with this dinner. The best part was that most of the delicious flavor came from the spices. A great way to reduce the sodium in your food. We all know it sneaks in to our canned food very easily. I try and watch out for it since hypertension likes my family. Although, since I have been pregnant I have had the lowest blood pressure of my life!? Weird.

Speaking of pregnancy, we are rounding the 8th month mark and all is well. I will try and get some more fun belly shots up soon. I know you are all dying to see my big baby belly. 🙂

Now it’s time for the Siesta!

